Tigray found in north Ethiopia, is the credile of civilization of the Horn of Africa.

The time has come for Tigray to become independent from Ethiopia. The ongoing war in Tigray (started november 2020) has made the independence of Tigray imminent. In this site we focus on issues that may be raised during the process of becoming independent.

One issue that comes in mind when thinking of independence is the boundary. This issue should be addressed in the implementation of the indepence of Tigray. This is certainly so, because the boundary of Tigray, and also that of Ethiopia, has been changing during the last 150 years.

In this page you we will show you in picture how these boundaries have changed, and tell you short histories why the changes took place. We have collected of reference documents, Articles and made links to publications about Tigray by all types of media.

About the boundary of independent Tigray

The topic of clearly demacation of the boundries Ethiopia's regional states has never ben as important as now. A number of regional state are fighting for self rule. One of the strongest advocate of self rule is the (now) regional state of Tigray. Because of this the the central government has innitiated war against Tigray in november 2020. As the result of this people of Tigray people are now asking beyond selfrule. No tigraway has had independent idea in mind before the sart of the war. But now, with all the atrocities that are taking place in Tigray the indipendence of Tigray has become imminent. Large majority (possibly 99%) of Tigray people don't want to stay with Ethiopia anymore.

The question now is which territory of Tigray is going to be independent. The boundary of Tigray has changed several times during the last 150 years.

The latest demarcation of the boundary of Tigray took place in 1991, with the idea of keeping a unified country Ethiopia. Now Ethiopia is in danger of disintegration, Tigray has to reclaim its historical boundaries. Boundaries that go back to the period before 1855, the year when the so called 'Zemene Mesafint' ended. The period of Zemene Mesafint of Abyssenia (now Ethiopia) lasted for centuries.

Abyssenia had never had demarcated boundary before 1855. I also had never had a central government until 1855.The year 1855 is marked as the begining of existence of modern Abyssenia (since 1930's Ethiopia). In 1855 Atse Tewodros had started to forcefully rule several regions of Abyssenia.

Below in this page find maps showing the changing boundries of Tigray during the last 150 years. Click on the following link to see maps of the changing boundaries of Ethiopia during the same period.

See 150 years maps of Ethiopia

History of the changing boundaries of Tigray & Abyssinia / Ethiopia (1855-2021)

To begin with there should not be any confusion between Abyssenia and Ethiopia. Until the early 1930's, the name Abyssenia remained synonimous to Ethiopia. It was only during the Haileselasee rule name Abyssenia was abolished.

The name Abyssenia was the collective name of several regions in northern Ethiopia. Before 1855, the regions Tigray, Agew midir, Gojam, Shewa and Wollo made the country Abyssenia. These regions of Abyssenia existed for centuries and were geographically, ethinicaly or religiously bounded. Abyssenia itself had no clearly demarcated boundary until 1889. The boundary of Abyssenia was demarcated, for the first time, just like any other African countries during the colonization (scramble for Africa) period. In 1989 to be exact when Atse Minilik came to power.

The regions of Abyssenia had known selfrule ,with own local govenors and administration. The higher governers had the titles of Ras (princes). There were Ras's of Tigray, Gojam, Shewa, Agew and Wollo etc. Such governors becomes Nigus (king) when other region or regions are included in the administration and taxes were willingly or forcefully collected from the regions.

As is shown in the 17the centuries maps of the world the name Ethiopia was associated to what is now called Sub-sahara Africa. The North Atlantic Ocean was also called the Ethiopian Ocean. During the scramble for Africa the world never knew the existence of a country called Ethiopia but Abyssenia. The Italians invaded no country that was called Ethiopia in late 19th century and in the early 1930's of the 20th century. The Italians invaded Abyssinia.
See 17th century map

The name Ethiopia was not known to Ethiopians during the Zemene Mesafint. The 3000 years old history that Ethiopia claims is actually the history of Axumites, particularly that of Tigray Abyssenians. That history of Ethiopia is inherited from Abyssenia when Haileselasse changed the name Ethiopia. If Tigray becomes independent Ethiopia has no background to claim that history. This adds to the liability of the disintegration of Ethiopia, as most states don't consider themselves as Abyssnians.

It was Atse Tewodros from Kimant (ruled 1855-1867) who forcefully succeeded to rule several regions under the name Abyssenia.

Atse (emperor) Yohannes (ruled 1867-1889) from Tigray succeeded Tewodros and continued to rule Abyssenia. He had correctly claimed the title of 'niguse negest' (king of kings) of Abyssenia, since he had several kings under his Administration. Yohannes fought and defended Abyseenia from foreign invaders (Egypt, Turkey, Italy, the Mahadists etc). Emperor Yohannes had secured the northern boundary, the Red Sea, of Abyssenia. The region Shewa constituted the southern boundry of his administration.

Atse Minilik (ruled 1889-1913) who ruled Abyssenia after Yohannes had made deals to demarcate the boundaries of Abyssenia. To the North he handed over the Red Sea including northern Tigray (now Eritrea) to the Italians. To the south he expanded Abyssenia territory to what is now known as Ethiopia. The territory of Ethiopia is much bigger than Abyssenia. But the southern peoples never considered themselves as Abyssenians.

Queen Zewditu (daughter of Minilik) and Lij Eyassu (a nefey) ruled Abyssenia (ruled 1913-1931).
Atse Haileselasee (ruled 1931-1974) officially changed the name Abyssenia to Ethiopia in the early 1930's. He also divided Ethiopia into 13 provinces. By doing so he took distance from the name Abyssenia. Later in the early 1960's he made Eritrea the 14th province of Ethiopia.

Colonel Mengistu, Derg- military junta, (1974-1991) tried to retain Ethiopia as is, but failed. Eritrea became independent in 1991 (officially 1993).

Mr. Meles Zenawi (ruled 1991-2012) from Tigray, divided Ethiopia into 9 regions based on language and Ethnicity. His successor Mr. Hailemariam failed to govern the country as is and handed the power over to Mr. Abiy Ahmed in 2018.

Abiy Ahmed (2018 - now) has not changed the boundaries yet. Unfortunately Abiy is not taken long to recognize Abiy as a despotic dictator. Since he came to power, 3 years ago, he has proved hemself to be against self rule of the regions. He has manifested that in almost all of the regions. Many known well known Ethiopian politicians are killed and many, tens of thousands kept in prison during the last 3 years.

Tigray was the only region that Abiy could not subjugate easily. Thus, he made alliance with foreign countries and Amhara regional government and invaded Tigray in november 2020. Since then, Tigray is figting back and determined to rule itself. However, with almost a total of 1,000,000 armed soldiers fighting in Tigray, the damage and the atrocities that took place in Tigray are beyond one can comprehend.

After all these damage, the indipendence of Tigray has become imminent. There is no single Tigraway who wants to remain Ethiopian. Subsequently, if Tigray becomes independent, other regions will follow the disintegration of Ethiopia will be the final result. Within a forseable periode Ethiopia will become history, just like Yugoslavia in the the early 1990.

Read More